17th annual chicago asian american showcase, april 9-16

Hey Chicago! You've got a pretty damn awesome film festival coming your way.... The 17th Annual Asian American Showcase is going down April 9-16 at the Gene Siskel Film Center, with a super stacked lineup of films.

Things kick off with the Opening Night screening of Daylight Savings, starring Goh Nakamura. This is your chance to check out a bunch of films I'm always talking about around here, like Patrick Wang's In the Family, Richard Wong's Yes, We're Open and Michael Kang's Knots, among other works.

Here's a quick glance at the schedule:

Friday, April 6
6:00pm 100 Years
8:15pm Daylight Savings

Saturday, April 7
6:30pm No Look Pass
8:15pm Knots/Instant Slapping

Sunday, April 8
4:00pm Big in Bollywood
5:30pm Ah Sou Desuka: Is That So!/Suite Suite Chinatown

Monday, April 9
6:15pm Big in Bollywood
7:45pm No Look Pass

Wednesday, April 11
6:00pm Open Season/Among B-Boys
8:15pm Daylight Savings

Thursday, April 12
8:30pm Knots/Instant Slapping

Friday, April 13
8:30pm I Am Ghost

Saturday, April 14
3:15pm Animal Style
6:00pm Salad Days
7:30pm In The Family

Sunday, April 15
3:00pm Sing China!
4:30pm Jake Shimabukuro Documentary
6:00pm Yes, We're Open

Monday, April 16
6:00pm Resident Aliens/Restoring The Light
8:00pm I Am Ghost

Wednesday, April 18
6:15pm Sing China!
8:00pm Salad Days

Thursday, April 19
8:45pm Yes, We're Open

Seventeen years! I love Chicago and I love this festival. It was the first Asian American film festival I ever attended, way back when. So you can partially thank (or blame) the Foundation for Independent Asian American Media for my obsession for Asian American cinema.

For full descriptions of all the films, as well as trailers and ticket info, go to the FAAIM website here and the Gene Siskel Center website here.

angry archive