National Youth Summit on Japanese American Incarceration in World War II

Join the conversation on Tuesday, May 17, 2016.

The Japanese American National Museum will host the National Youth Summit on Japanese American Incarceration in World War II, an online outreach program organized by the museum in partnership with the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History. The event will link middle and high school students from across the country in a webcast centered on the Japanese American incarceration and its lessons for today.

It's happening Tuesday, May 17 at 1:00-2:00pm ET. Here are some more details:

WEBCAST: National Youth Summit: Japanese American Incarceration in World War II

Tuesday, May 17
1-2PM ET/10-11AM PT

During World War II, the United States government forcibly removed over 120,000 Japanese Americans from the Pacific Coast. These individuals, two-thirds of them U.S. citizens, were sent to ten camps built throughout the western interior of the United States. Many would spend the next three years living under armed guard, behind barbed wire.

On May 17, 2016, at 1 p.m. Eastern and 10 a.m. Pacific, join the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History and the Japanese American National Museum for a webcast event where we will explore this period in American history and consider how fear and prejudice can upset the delicate balance between the rights of citizens and the power of the state.

For further information and to register for this free program, go here.


angry archive