Who are the Most Influential AAPIs of 2019?

Gold House's A100 List honors the most impactful Asians and Asian American & Pacific Islanders in culture.

In celebration of AAPI Heritage Month, Gold House has announced its second annual A100 List honoring the most influential Asians and Asian American & Pacific Islanders in American culture.

The 2019 List honors 100 of "the most esteemed and impactful Asians in media and entertainment, fashion and lifestyle, technology, business, and social activism and politics from the past year," according to Gold House's press release. "These trailblazers are illuminating the path to a future of more inclusion and diverse impact in high positions across various professional sectors."

This year's honorees include creative voices and athletes such as Awkwafina, BTS, Darren Criss, Hasan Minhaj, Marie Kondo, Jon M. Chu, Naomi Osaka, and Sandra Oh; founders and entrepreneurs such as Rise CEO & Founder Amanda Nguyen, chef David Chang and Twitch Co-Founder Kevin Lin; and leaders such as U.S. Senator Kamala Harris, Planned Parenthood President Leana Wen, and Allure Editor-in-Chief Michelle Lee.

Additionally, for the first time, Gold House is launching the A1, a vote among the A100 for the single most impactful Asian in culture from the last year. Votes may be submitted at goldhouse.org/a1 until May 15; the A1 will be announced at the end of May.

Here's the list of this year's honorees:

Abhijay Prakash
President, Universal Filmed Entertainment Group
Adele Lim
TV Writer-Producer, Screenwriter
Aileen Lee
Founder & Partner, Cowboy Ventures
Albert Cheng
Co-Head of Television and Chief Operating Officer, Amazon Studios
Alex & Maia Shibutani
2x Olympians & 2x Olympic medalists
Alex Chung
Founder & CEO, Giphy
Ali Wong
Comedian & Writer
Alysa Liu
U.S. Champion Figure Skater
Amanda Nguyen
Founder & CEO, Rise
Andrew Hao-Che Chen
General Partner, Andreessen Horowitz
Andrew Yang
Presidential Candidate (D)
Andy Park, Asad Ayaz & Trinh Tran
Marvel & Disney (Director of Visual Development, Marvel Studios | President, Marketing, The Walt Disney Studios | Executive, Production & Development, Marvel Studios)
Annie Lee
CFO, Interscope Geffen A&M
Archit Bhargava, Dennis Hwang & Diana Hu
Niantic Labs (Director, Worldwide Product Marketing | VP, Visual and Interaction Design | Director of Engineering & Head of AR Platform)
Atul Gawande
Surgeon, Writer, & Public Health Leader
Actress & Comedian
Baiju Bhatt & Vladimir Tenev
Co-Founders & Co-CEOs, Robinhood
Bela Bajaria & Lisa Nishimura
Netflix (Head of Global Non-English TV Original Programming | VP, Original Documentary & Comedy Programming)
Ben Silbermann
Co-Founder & CEO, Pinterest
Betty Liu
Executive Vice Chairman, NYSE
Carol Lim & Humberto Leon
Co-Founders, Opening Ceremony
Chantal Nong, Katie Soo & Walter Hamada
Warner Bros. (VP, Production, DC-Based Films | SVP, Marketing, Warner Bros. Digital Networks | President, DC-Based Films)
Chieh Huang
CEO, Boxed
Chloe Kim
Olympic Gold Medalist
Chrissy Teigen
Model, TV Host, & Lifestyle Curator
Constance Wu
Dan Lin
CEO, Rideback
Daniel Dae Kim
Actor, Producer, & Director
Dara Khosrowshahi & Nelson Chai
Uber (CEO | CFO)
Darren Criss
Actor, Singer, & Songwriter
David Chang
Restaurateur, Author, TV Personality & Founder, Momofuku Group
Dhivya Suryadevara
CFO, General Motors
Domee Shi
Director & Storyboarder
Dwayne Johnson
Actor & Producer
Emily Nishi & Raj Kapoor
Lyft (Chief People Officer | Chief Strategy Officer & Head of Autonomous Business)
Eric Wu
Co-Founder & CEO, Opendoor
Eric S. Yuan
Founder & CEO, Zoom
Eugene Lee Yang
Viral Media Producer, Actor, Writer & Director
Gemma Chan
Grace Meng
U.S. Congresswoman (D) & Vice Chair of the Democratic National Committee
Singer & Songwriter
Harry Shum Jr.
Actor, Singer, & Dancer
Hasan Minhaj
Stand-Up Comedian
Henry Golding
Indra Nooyi
Board Director, Amazon & Former CEO & Chairman, PepsiCo
James Wan
Jason Momoa
Jen Rubio
Co-Founder & Chief Brand Officer, Away
Jennifer Cabalquinto
CFO, Golden State Warriors
Jeremy Lin
NBA Point Guard, Toronto Raptors
John Cho
Jon M. Chu
Judy John
Global Chief Creative Officer, Edelman
Justin Kan
Co-Founder & CEO, Atrium
Kamala Harris
United States Senator (D)
Katrina Lake
Founder & CEO, Stitch Fix
Ken Jeong
Actor & Comedian
Kevin Kwan
Kevin Lin
Co-Founder & COO, Twitch
Kim Yutani
Director of Programming, Sundance Film Festival
Kyler Murray
Winner of the 2018 Heisman Trophy
Dr. Leana Wen
President, Planned Parenthood Federation of America
Lilly Singh
Actress, Comedian, TV Host, & Author
Lisa Ling
Executive Producer & Host of "This is Life with Lisa Ling," CNN
Marie Kondo
Tidying Expert, Bestselling Author, & Founder, KonMari Media, Inc.
Mark Tatum
Deputy Commissioner & COO,
National Basketball Association
Masayoshi Son
Founder & CEO, Softbank
Maureen Fan
Co-Founder & CEO, Baobab Studios
Michelle Lee
Editor in Chief, Allure
Michelle Yeoh
Actress & Producer
Mindy Kaling
Actress, Writer, & Comedian
Naomi Osaka
World's No. 1 Tennis Player
Nathan Chen
Olympian & U.S. Champion Figure Skater
Nathaniel Ru
Co-Founder & Chief Brand Officer, Sweetgreen
Neeraj Khemlani
President of Entertainment & Syndication, Hearst
Nico Santos
Nina Yang Bongiovi
Producing Partner, Significant Productions
Peilin Chou
Chief Creative Officer, Pearl Studio
Phillip Lim
Creative Director & Co-Founder, 3.1 Phillip Lim
Prabal Gurung
Founder, CEO & Creative Director, Prabal Gurung
Priyanka Chopra
Radhika Jones
Editor-in-Chief, Vanity Fair
Rebecca Sun
Senior Reporter, The Hollywood Reporter
Ro Khanna
U.S. Congressman (D)
Ryan Brown
Head of Content, Twitter
Saikat Chakrabarti
Chief of Staff, U.S. Congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez
Samin Nosrat
Cook, Teacher and Author
Sandra Oh
Sarah Guo
General Partner, Greylock Partners
Satya Nadella
CEO, Microsoft
Shantanu Narayen
CEO, Adobe
Shiva Rajaraman
Chief Product Officer, The We Company
Steve Shikiya
COO, Imagine Entertainment
Steven Yeun
Actor & Producer
Sun Choe
Chief Product Officer, lululemon
Sundar Pichai
CEO, Google
Ted Lieu
U.S. Congressman (D)
Theresa Kang-Lowe
Partner, WME Entertainment
CoFounder of WME’s Diversity & Inclusion Initiative, Empower
Vera Wang
Founder, Vera Wang

The full list, with bios, can also be found at goldhouse.org/a100.

The A100 honorees were chosen by a selection committee consisting of 20 of the country's top Asian nonprofit organizations and a group of multicultural icons, including speed skater Apolo Anton Ohno, figure skater Michelle Kwan, film producer Janet Yang, and YouTube founder Steve Chen.

Gold House is described as "an exclusive collective of pioneering Asian founders, creative voices, and leaders dedicated to systematically accelerating the Asian diaspora's societal impact while enhancing the community's cultural legacy." The nonprofit organization's programs include networking salons, investment vehicles like the #GoldOpen initiative, and the A100 List.

Don't see your favorite person on this year's list? Nominations for next year's A100 List are already open now at goldhouse.org/nominate.

angry archive