Hey writers! Apply to the 2017 CAPE New Writers Fellowship

Submissions open until Monday, January 9

Hey, screenwriters! This is a heads up that the submission deadline for the 2017 CAPE New Writers Fellowship is quickly approaching. Presented by the Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment, this is an opportunity to take part in an intensive 12-session scriptwriting program led by top industry professionals.

The Fellows are selected by entertainment industry professionals through a rigorous process that includes three rounds of blind script judging and an interview. Each writer or writing team will participate in the 12-session program in Los Angeles and receive a cash stipend and certificate upon successful completion of the program. All entries must be submitted electronically by Monday, January 9 at 11:59PM PST.

Led by leading industry writers, producers, agents and executives, the Fellowship is co-chaired by Steve Tao (television executive, The CW) and Leo Chu (Creator/Showrunner, Supah Ninjas, Afro Samurai). The sessions include master classes and writing labs in which Fellows revise their scripts under the mentorship of high-level industry professionals. Fellowship partners include NBCUniversal, Hollywood Foreign Press Association, Warner Bros. and Sony Pictures Entertainment, as well as in-kind partner The Writers Guild of America, West.

Now in its fifth year as a full-fledged fellowship, this signature program is part of CAPE's mission to champion diversity by educating, connecting and empowering Asian American and Pacific Islander artists and leaders in entertainment and media. This is a great opportunity for up-and-coming writers trying to break in.

CAPE's past success stories include TV staff writers Bo Yeon Kim & Erika Lippoldt (CW's Reign), Helen Shang (CBS' Hawaii Five-0, NBC's Hannibal), Marissa Tam (NBC's The Blacklist), Nikhil Jayaram (NBC's Mysteries of Laura), Aaron Ho (Disney's Austin & Ally and ABC's Cougar Town), Young Il Kim (Showtime's Billions), Thomas Wong (Fox's Minority Report, CBS' Bull), Frederick Kim (Frankenstein, M.D. and USA's Complications), Ken Cheng (FX and FXX's Wilfred and Amazon's Betas), Franklin Jin Rho (ABC's Assets) and Leonard Chang (FX's Snowfall, FX's Justified); script coordinator Christopher Wu (Amazon's Bosch); and screenwriters Isaac Ho (1001 Ways to Enjoy the Missionary Position) and Alice Wu (Sony Classics' Saving Face).

For further information about the 2017 CAPE New Writers Fellowship, including submission guidelines, required materials and eligibility, head over to CAPE's website. Good luck!

angry archive