Angry Gift Guide: The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki

Blu-ray box set includes animation master's 11 feature films

Fellow Miyazaki maniacs, there is no way around it: somehow, you must get your hands on The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki, available exclusively from Amazon. The comprehensive Blu-ray box set includes each of the revered animation master's eleven feature films, plus rare works from Miyazaki's early career.

The 12-disc set features Lupin the Third: The Castle of Cagliostro, NausicaƤ of the Valley of the Wind, Castle in the Sky, My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki's Delivery Service, Porco Rosso, Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, Howl's Moving Castle, Ponyo, and The Wind Rises. Bonus materials include Yuki no Taiyo -- a 1972 television pilot directed, storyboarded and animated by Hayao Miyazaki, as well as three episodes of the 1972 Miyazaki-storyboarded anime series Akado Suzunosuk, and more.

Here's some more info on the set:

The Collected Works of Hayao Miyazaki
Buena Vista Home Video: $249.99
12 discs, Blu-ray
Available exclusively on Amazon.com

Content and Special Features:

• NausicaƤ of the Valley of the Wind (1984)

• Castle in the Sky (1986)

• My Neighbor Totoro (1988)

• Kiki's Delivery Service (1989)

• Porco Rosso (1992)

• Princess Mononoke (1997)

• Spirited Away (2001)

• Howl's Moving Castle (2004)

• Ponyo (2008/2009)

• The Wind Rises (2013)

• Yuki no Taiyo (Yuki's Sun) - A 1972 TV pilot based on an original manga by Tetsuya Chiba, directed by Hayao Miyazaki who was also in charge of storyboards and key animation.

• Akado Suzunosuke (Little Samurai) - Three episodes (Episode 26, 27 & 41) of the hit 1972 anime series with storyboarding and more by Hayao Miyazaki.

• Director Hayao Miyazaki Retirement Press Conference, Uncut Version

Okay, fanboys and fangirls. Time to break open your piggy banks, or write those letters to Santa.

angry archive