president obama appoints to new members to advisory commission

Last week, President Barack Obama announced and swore in several new members to the President's Advisory Commission on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, including our friend, activist/attorney Ramey Ko, as well as a range of community leaders and entrepreneurs, and even pro football star Hines Ward. The new appointees are:

  • Sefa Aina

  • Debra T. Cabrera

  • Kamuela J. N. Enos

  • Frances Eneski Francis

  • Farooq Kathwari

  • Hyeok Kim

  • Ramey Ko

  • Rozita Villanueva Lee

  • Sunil Puri

  • Amardeep Singh

  • Unmi Song

  • Dilawar A. Syed

  • Khampha Thephavong

  • Doua Thor

  • Hector L. Vargas, Jr.

  • Hines Ward
  • For more information on the background and achievements of these appointees, and the experience they bring to their new roles, go to the White House press release: President Obama Announces More Key Administration Posts.

    The Commission will work to improve the quality of life and opportunities for Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders through increased access to, and participation in, Federal programs in which they may be underserved, by providing advice to President Obama and the co-chairs of the White House Initiative, Education Secretary Arne Duncan and Commerce Secretary Gary Locke.

    angry archive